|
|
|
|
keltic63
the kilted one
|
|
|
Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 8574
Location: under the weather
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/26/04 - 21:26 Post subject: Strange email
I just checked my hotmail account and had a Mailer Daemon:
| Quote: | This is the Postfix program at host prodigy.net
I'm sorry to have to inform you that the message returned
below could not be delivered to one or more destinations.
The message itself and all the other important information
are included into the attachment.
| the attachment was entitled fail.hta and the email subject line was "Your Message delivery has been failed." A name from the email at prodigy.net is one I don't recognize. Hotmail has zapped the attachment "permanently" as it is "potentially unsafe."
i wonder what that is about?
|
|
|
|
|
rolling rock
The Pinball
|
|
|
Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 16218
Location: unknown zone
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/26/04 - 21:28 Post subject:
run. for. your. life.
it's gonna blow.
|
|
|
|
|
crazyfrog
Kermitologist
|
|
|
Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 7610
Location: atlanta
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/26/04 - 21:30 Post subject:
ive been getting tons (10-15 a day) of those.
even when i dont send messages out of that acct... i have no clue what they are, but i jsut dump them...
|
|
|
|
|
purple hayes
Frightened Inmate #2
|
|
|
Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 14462
Location: ON YOUR LEFT!
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/26/04 - 21:31 Post subject:
Could be a new mass-mailer worm that grabbed your address from someone else's address book and sent out the worm with you listed as the sender.
Prodiy's e-mail gateway grabbed it before it was delivered, cropped of the bad attachment and sent you a notice of undeliverability.
Just a guess.
|
|
|
|
|
Running Brewer
Member
|
|
|
Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 3872
Location: Santa Poco
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/26/04 - 21:33 Post subject:
I just got the same e-mail. But I also got two from the state with a Document.zip attachment. There is definitely something going around today. With my companies crack MIS guy I am sure we will be down tomorrow.
|
|
|
|
|
keltic63
the kilted one
|
|
|
Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 8574
Location: under the weather
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/26/04 - 21:34 Post subject:
| purple hayes wrote: | Could be a new mass-mailer worm that grabbed your address from someone else's address book and sent out the worm with you listed as the sender.
Prodiy's e-mail gateway grabbed it before it was delivered, cropped of the bad attachment and sent you a notice of undeliverability.
Just a guess. |
that's good to hear, I guess. I just took another look at it to see when I supposedly sent it: Monday January 26 at 10:04pm. I'm guessing that's not my time zone seeing as how it's only 8:30 right now.
|
|
|
|
|
brie k
Member
|
|
|
Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 5661
Location: where the wild things are
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/27/04 - 13:53 Post subject:
Evidently that's how this new worm/virus works. I've heard some stuff on tv about it, that one of it's sending methods is that you get a message saying yours (that you didn't send) was returned undeliverable. I've gotten this twice in one of my home accounts, and once at my email.com address, and norton catches it for me. This happened to me with the last worm as well. It also uses the subject line of "hi" and "status". You can find more info on symantec.com or mcafee.com.
Good to keep the virus def's up-to-date.
|
|
|
|
|
sonnylax
Member
|
|
|
Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 2942
Location: Living in a lollipop and unicorn world
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/27/04 - 13:58 Post subject:
New Worm blasting thru the Internet:
http://www.reuters.co.uk/printerFriendlyPopup.jhtml?type=technologyNews&storyID=4212198
| Quote: | SAN FRANCISCO (Reuters) - Security experts warned on Monday about a new virus outbreak that was spreading quickly across the Internet.
The new virus, dubbed MyDoom or Novarg, is a mass-mailing worm that arrives as an attachment with an .exe, .scr, .zip or .pif extension and can have a subject line of "test" or "status."
|
|
|
|
|
|
keltic63
the kilted one
|
|
|
Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 8574
Location: under the weather
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/27/04 - 14:17 Post subject:
can I assume that since msn blocked the attachment that my computer is not infected? I have some kind of anti-virus software on the comp, but I'm not sure it's updated.
|
|
|
|
|
Pug
The Movie Geek
|
|
|
Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Posts: 8924
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/27/04 - 14:25 Post subject:
I got the same one this morning. I just deleted when i realized that i never sent anything to @mail.com
|
|
|
|
|
brie k
Member
|
|
|
Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 5661
Location: where the wild things are
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/27/04 - 14:49 Post subject:
| keltic63 wrote: | | can I assume that since msn blocked the attachment that my computer is not infected? I have some kind of anti-virus software on the comp, but I'm not sure it's updated. |
Yes, MSN likely caught it. You should go ahead and do an update though. What anti-virus do you have? I have Norton. It's easy-peasy-japanesy to update. I always run mine when I hear of a new virus, even if I just updated the day before, and I run it again even if the mail client catches it. I figure since I spent $20 (or whatever, I don't know exactly what we pay per year, but I know we have to subscribe on EACH computer, and we have 4!!) on the subscription, might as well get my money's worth.
|
|
|
|
|
AlaninTX
Member
|
|
|
Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 6582
Location: Austin, Texas
|
| Back to top
|
|
Posted: 01/27/04 - 15:05 Post subject:
This is an old scam. Do not open them. Just delete them. Either a virus is attatched, or it is an ad.
|
|
|
|